This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Denmark Open: Satwiksairaj-Chirag advance to quarterfinal

Odense [Denmark], October 20 (ANI): The Indian men's doubles duo of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty advanced to the quarterfinals of the ongoing Denmark Open 2022, defeating the Indonesian duo of Muhammad Shohibul Fikri and Bagas Maulana in their round of 16 match on Thursday.

Satwiksairaj-Chirag prevailed within two straight games by 21-14, 21-16.

On the other hand in the women's doubles category, the duo of Treesa Jolly and Gayatri Gopichand bowed out of the competition after a defeat to Thailand duo of Rawinda Prajongjai and Jongkolphan Kititharakul in their round of 16 match.

The Indian duo lost their match by 21-23, 13-21.

Prannoy HS, Lakshya Sen will be in action later this night.

Earlier, ace Indian shuttler Prannoy HS advanced to the next round of the ongoing Denmark Open 2022 after defeating Zhao Junpeng of China in his first-round match in the men's singles category on Wednesday.

The Indian defeated his opponent by 21-13, 22-20 within two straight games in a match that lasted 43 minutes.

The Indian contingent started their second day of Denmark Open 2022 on a winning note with men's doubles duo Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty defeating the South Korean duo of Kang Min-hyuk and Seo Seung Jae in the first-round match on Wednesday.

The India duo defeated their opponents 21-15, 21-19 in two straight games in a match that lasted 44 minutes.

The CWG 2022 medalist Lakshya Sen also made a winning start to his campaign, defeating Indonesia's Anthony Sinisuka Ginting in the first round 21-16, 21-12.

The match lasted 33 minutes.

Indian women's badminton star Saina Nehwal crashed out of the women's singles competition in the first round after a loss to China's Zhang Yiman. She lost the match 17-21, 21-19,11-21. After being a game down, Nehwal made a comeback in the second game but lost the final oneDenmark Open started on October 18 and will conclude on October 23. (ANI)