One of the most exciting dates in the footballing calendar is just around the corner, as the FA Cup Third Round is set to take place at the start of next month.

The world’s oldest football competition is into its 141st season in 2021-22 and the Second Round is set to conclude tonight.

This season’s FA Cup began with the Extra Preliminary Round back in July, involving clubs from the very bottom of the footballing pyramid with a shot at making history.

And now some of the world’s best teams come into the picture as the draw for the Third Round is finally here.

Here is all you need to know ahead of that draw and who will be involved in the next round of the FA Cup.

The draw for the FA Cup Third Round takes place tonight

When is the FA Cup Third Round draw?

The draw for the FA Cup Third Round takes place at 7pm on Monday, December 6.

How to watch

The draw will be televised on ITV4, prior to the second-round tie between Boreham Wood and St Albans City, with coverage starting at 6:45pm.

You can also tune in via ITV's Hub app, while it is also available to stream on the FA's Twitter and Facebook pages.

Who’s involved

The Third Round draw will involve 64 clubs in total, including the 20 Premier League teams and the 24 Championship teams.

The 20 winners from the Second Round will also advance to the Third Round, which is made up of League 1, League 2 and non-league clubs.

The lowest ranked side left in the competition is Kidderminster Harriers of the National League North - the sixth tier of English football.

When does the Third Round take place?

The FA Cup Third Round takes place on the weekend of January 7-10.

The winners of each tie will receive £82,000 in prize money.

Brendan Rodgers guided Leicester to their first FA Cup win last season (


Leicester City FC via Getty Images)

Who won the FA Cup last season?

Leicester City are the current holders of the FA Cup after winning it in 2020-21.

They defeated Chelsea 1-0 in the final at Wembley in May, courtesy of a 63rd minute Youri Tielemans strike.

Ball numbers

1. AFC Bournemouth

2. Arsenal

3. Aston Villa

4. Barnsley

5. Birmingham City

6. Blackburn Rovers

7. Blackpool

8. Brentford

9. Brighton & Hove Albion

10. Bristol City

11. Burnley

12. Cardiff City

13. Chelsea

14. Coventry City

15. Crystal Palace

16. Derby County

17. Everton

18. Fulham

19. Huddersfield Town

20. Hull City

21. Leeds United

22. Leicester City

23. Liverpool

24. Luton Town

25. Manchester City

26. Manchester United

27. Middlesbrough

28. Millwall

29. Newcastle United

30. Norwich City

St Albans City will be looking to make it through to the Third Round when they face Borehamwood tonight

31. Nottingham Forest

32. Peterborough United

33. Preston North End

34. Queens Park Rangers

35. Reading

36. Sheffield United

37. Southampton

38. Stoke City

39. Swansea City

40. Tottenham Hotspur

41. Watford

42. West Bromwich Albion

43. West Ham United

44. Wolverhampton Wanderers

45. Yeovil Town or Stevenage

46. Bristol Rovers

47. Port Vale

48. Morecambe

49. Hartlepool United

50. AFC Wimbledon

51. Colchester United or Wigan Athletic

52. Leyton Orient

53. Cambridge United

54. Mansfield Town

55. Swindon Town

56. Rotherham United

57. Charlton Athletic

58. Boreham Wood or St Albans City

59. Kidderminster Harriers or FC Halifax Town

60. Shrewsbury Town

61. Salford City or Chesterfield

62. Rochdale or Plymouth Argyle

63. Ipswich Town or Barrow

Read More

Read More